Graduate Program Advising and Faculty


Advising

Students are accepted into the Department with a temporary advisor, Dr. Debra Spielmaker. For initial advising and questions about the graduate program admissions, please contact:

Dr. Debra Spielmaker
e-mail: debra.spielmaker@usu.edu
P: 435-213-5562
Office: IS 108

Agriculture Systems Technology Graduate Faculty Specializations

Graduate students must establish a Supervisory Committee during the second semester of their program (a Program of Study will need to be approved at the end of the second semester). Students may choose their major professor (chair) and other committee members (minimum of two) from the AST graduate faculty (see below).

To begin, contact the professor you would like to serve as chair of your committee. If she/he are willing to serve, then together discuss other faculty members who should be asked to serve on the Supervisory Committee. It is the student's responsibility to contact the proposed committee members to make certain they are willing to serve prior to completing the Supervisory Committee Approval Form. The form will require each members signature (collected by the School of Graduate Studies electronically).  The department head must approve the committee and may add members. The Supervisory Committee Approval Form is then forwarded to the dean of the School of Graduate Studies for final approval.

For specific questions about research specialization, contact one of the following faculty members:

Dr. Rhonda Miller, Agricultural Extension
e-mail: rhonda.miller@usu.edu
P: 435-797-3772
Office: ASTE 109

Dr. Lindsey Shirley, Family and Consumer Sciences Education and Extension
e-mail:
lindsey.shirley@usu.edu 
P: 435-797-3410
Office: FL 303B

Dr. Debra Spielmaker, Career and Technical Education
e-mail:
debra.spielmaker@usu.edu
P: 435-213-5562
Office: IS 108

Dr. Becki Lawver, Secondary and Post-secondary Agricultural Education
e-mail: rebecca.lawver@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-1254
Office: ASTE 111


Additional ASTE faculty that may serve on Graduate Committees include:

Dr. Kelsey Hall, Agricultural Communications
e-mail:
kelsey.hall@usu.edu
Office: ASTE 107

Dr. Michael Pate, Agricultural Systems Technology
e-mail:
michael.pate@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-3508
Office: ASTE 139

Dr. Ed Reeve, Technology and Engineering Education
e-mail:
gary.stewardson@usu.edu
Phone: 435-898-3642
Office: IS 112-E

Dr. Gary Stewardson, Technology and Engineering Education
e-mail:
gary.stewardson@usu.edu
Phone: 435-797-1802
Office: IS 112-D

Dr. Brian Warnick, Secondary and Post-secondary Agricultural Education
e-mail:
brian.warnick@usu.edu
P: 435-797-0378
Office: ASTE 103